

Updates on friends and colleagues in the materials community

## Allen Named Director of Advanced Test Reactor User Facility at INL

TMS Member Todd Allen has been selected by Idaho National Laboratory



(INL) to serve as the scientific director for INL's Advanced Test Reactor National Scientific User Facility (NSUF). The Advanced Test Reactor

(ATR) was built as a materials and fuels test reactor to improve nuclear reactor performance and to investigate problems with commercial reactors. It was designated a National Scientific User Facility in April 2007 by the U.S. Department of Energy. This designation will help to attract new users and make access easier for universities, industry, and laboratories to conduct research at the reactor.

Allen, who has been a TMS member for more than 15 years, is a professor

## **Tiwari Receives NSF Career Award**

Ashutosh Tiwari, assistant professor and director of the Nanostructured Materials Research Laboratory at the University of Utah, has received the U.S. National Science Foundation's (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development



Award. A TMS member, Tiwari chairs the Superconducting and Magnetic Materials Committee of TMS's Electronic, Magnetic & Photonic Materi-

als Division. The award is one of the NSF's highest honors for young faculty members, and it recognizes and supports the early career activities of those teachers and scholars who are most likely to become the academic leaders of the future.

The five-year, half a million dollar award will support Tiwari's work in the development of new spintronic materials and devices. Tiwari plans to use of engineering physics at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, who now divides his time between his university duties and his Idaho National Lab directorship.

"By selecting a university professor as director . . . [INL] is sending a very strong signal to the university community that it wants to build partnerships," said Allen.

Last fall, the INL initiated an annual nationwide proposal solicitation seeking university experiments for the ATR. Four university-led teams were selected to have experiments put into the ATR later this year: North Carolina State University, University of Illinois, University of Florida, and University of California at Santa Barbara.

Read more about Allen's role and the new user facility on the Nuclear Materials community of the Materials Technology@TMS web site (*material-stechnology.tms.org*).

the funds to start an extensive research program that explores the possibility of inducing room temperature ferromagnetism in rare earth oxide-based high-k dielectrics by dilute doping of transition metal elements. Successful development of new diluted magnetic materials that show room temperature functionality could have a significant impact on the progress of spintronics, and Tiwari hopes that the program will lead to educational opportunities for graduate, undergraduate, and k–12 students and teachers.

Tiwari received his Ph.D. in Experimental Condensed Matter Physics from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. He has authored more than 55 papers in highly ranked international journals, holds one U.S. patent, and has received several awards.

In 2003, Tiwari was part of the TMS Young Leader Intern program (now the Young Leader Professional Development Award) for early career professionals.

## MRS INDUCTS TEN TMS MEMBERS INTO INAUGURAL FELLOW CLASS

In March, the Materials Research Society (MRS) inducted 34 materials scientists and engineers into its inaugural class of MRS Fellows, who are considered notable for their distinguished accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research worldwide. Of these inductees, seven were TMS fellows:

- John W. Cahn, University of Washington and National Institute of Standards and Technology (TMS Fellow, class of 1983)
- John P. Hirth, Washington State and Ohio State Universities (TMS Fellow, class of 1974)
- Sungho Jin, University of California at San Diego (TMS Fellow, class of 2001)
- John W. (Bill) Morris, University of California at Berkeley (TMS Fellow, class of 2001)
- Jagdish Narayan, North Carolina State University (TMS Fellow, class of 1999)
- Frans Spaepen, Harvard University (TMS Fellow, class of 1996)
- Subra Suresh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (TMS Fellow, class of 2000)

Three additional TMS members were also included among the MRS inaugural class of fellows:

- John M. Poate, Colorado School of Mines
- Carl V. Thompson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- William J. Weber, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Fellows were inducted during the 2008 MRS Spring Meeting in San Francisco, California, in March.

## **Submitting Member News**

Member News is a monthly feature of *JOM* that provides updates on the professional activities of TMS members, including awards, promotions, new jobs, and retirements, as well as tributes to members who have passed away. To submit news for consideration in a future issue, contact Kelly Roncone Zappas, *JOM* news editor, at kzappas@tms.org.